Skip to main content

Collection Development

Ask Us!

RCC librarians are currently unavailable.

To chat with a North Carolina Librarian select NCknows. NCknows chat is not available Saturdays and Sundays from midnight to 8:00 a.m.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


text us 336-308-8801

email library@randolph.edu

phone 336-633-0204

Calendar icon Book-a-Librarian

Library Mission

Our mission is to enhance and strengthen teaching and learning by providing quality information resources and technologies in an environment that promotes information literacy, provides exemplary customer service, and advocates the free exchange of information and ideas. 

Philosophy

A primary purpose of education is to help individuals develop the ability to think, to understand their own culture and viewpoints as well as other cultures and viewpoints, and to be critical in the search for values and knowledge. The freedom to read and access materials from which knowledge may be gained is critical in the development of these abilities. To this end the library endorses the policies, procedures, and published statements of the American Library Association relative to censorship, and academic and intellectual freedom.

Purpose

The library seeks to provide a collection and services which support the instructional needs of the total College. It also seeks to provide resources and services relevant to general informational needs, intellectual and professional growth, cultural development, and recreational activities of the student body, faculty, and staff.

With the College’s “open door” policy, the collection serves persons with a wide range of abilities and degrees of maturity. The collection seeks to provide materials on varying reading levels and in diverse formats to meet the needs of the student body.

The collection of the library is maintained for students, faculty, and staff but is available to the community at large.

Organization of the Collection

The collection is organized to allow for optimum access to the library’s resources. In order to accurately describe materials, cataloging follows nationally-accepted rules and guidelines. The most recent edition of the Dewey Decimal Classification (DDC) system is used to organize materials. In addition, rules and guidelines established by the Community College Libraries in North Carolina (CCLINC) consortium are followed.

Policy Evaluation

This policy will be evaluated as needed by the library staff.