Skip to main content
Banner Image

Faculty Resources

Services and resources to help you and your students get the most from your library

Ask Us!

RCC librarians are currently unavailable.

To chat with a North Carolina Librarian select NCknows. NCknows chat is not available Saturdays and Sundays from midnight to 8:00 a.m.

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 


Library Hours

text us 336-308-8801

email library@randolph.edu

phone 336-633-0204

Calendar icon Book-a-Librarian

Library Quick Facts

Hours & Contact Information

Monday- Thursday 7:30 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.

Friday 7:30 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.

E-mail library@randolph.edu 

Library Web site

Phone: 336-633-0204

Text: 336-308-8801


Checking Out Materials & Using Computers

  • Students must have their student ID to use library computers and check out materials. Faculty may request a computer login/password and a library account to borrow library materials.
  • Book loans are 3 weeks (student overdue fines are $.10 per day)
  • Video & DVD loans are 3 days (student overdue fines are $.50 per day)
  • Periodicals (magazines, journals, newspapers) can only be used in the library.
  • The Library has 51 computers equipped with Windows 7 & MS Office 2010, the college I: drive (lab computers only) and two flatbed scanners.
  • Black & white computer printouts cost $.05 each and color printouts cost $.20 each for students. Faculty may request the use of prepaid copy card when printing course related materials.
  • Photocopies cost $.10 each and will be charged to the instructor's department when copying course related materials.
  • Curriculum students who present their RCC Student ID are entitled to $3.00 in free printing/photocopying each semester.
  • Requests for audio-visual equipment, as well as any equipment issues, are handled through a Mantis request or by contacting the Computer Services Help Desk, extension 124.

Student Research

  • Students can make an appointment with a professional librarian using the Book-a-Librarian service.
  • We send the off-campus password for library databases to all faculty at the beginning of each fall semester.  Please feel free to share the password with your students.  Students can also obtain the password to library databases:
    • in the the library on the first floor of the LRC,
    • by e-mail (library@randolph.edu),
    • the "Ask a Librarian" chat box,
    • calling 336-633-0204,
    • or texting 336-308-8801.

FAQs

  1. What types of instruction can you provide to my class?
  2. May I bring my class to the library to do research?
  3. May I bring my class to the library to use the computers?
  4. So the library can’t accommodate my class if they all need to use computers.  What about the Library Computer Lab?
  5. Everything’s on the Web, isn’t it?
  6. I want my students to only use real library resources–not ”Internet sources.” 
  7. I have some materials that I would like my students to use, but I want to restrict the use.  Can you help me?

 



1. Instruction

Library instruction is a major component of the library's Information Literacy Program and ranges from an orientation tour of resources and services to detailed instruction in the use of specific databases and a Moodle Research 101 course. Instruction can be tailored to meet the specific needs of your class. Contact Donna Windish dcwindishrandolph.edu, Instructional Services Librarian, to schedule library instruction.


 

 

2. Research

We welcome classes to the library to do research, use print and electronic resources, and receive assistance from library staff; however, space is very limited, especially during the mornings and through lunch (few available seats or computers). Here are options you may want to consider to make certain your students have a positive experience:

  • Always notify us before bringing a class to the library and include the name of the class and number of students.
  • Remind students that a College ID is required for the use of most library services, including book checkout and reserve materials checkout.
  • If your class meets during the first half of the day, we recommend that you invite a librarian to come to your classroom to provide instruction and/or work with and answer questions your students may have about their research. If student computers are not available in your classroom, we recommend you place a Mantis request to reserve a laptop cart or a computer lab.
  • Structure your course so that student research is done individually outside the classroom and make sure to communicate to your students that librarians are ready and willing to assist them individually.

 

 

3. Computers

  • Library computers are available for individual and small group work and research. However, the library is not designed to function as a computer classroom.   
  • Walk-ins normally fill up most of the computers during the mornings and during lunch. We urge you to book a computer classroom IF your students will only be using computers.
  • If your students are going to need assistance in using a variety of library resources, we will do our best to accommodate the needs of your class IN the library, but we need to prepare with you in advance.

 

 

4. Computer Lab

  • The Library Computer Lab is an open lab that is available to individual students. It is not designed for classroom-type instruction. 
  • The Training Area has 10 computers and can be reserved for small group work or small training sessions during non-peak lab use. To reserve the Training Area, email library@randolph.edu or call 336-633-0204.

 

 

5. Web vs Library Resources

  • While there is a wealth of information on the web, few substantive materials are on the Internet for free, and quality control is fairly non-existent.
  • Phishing, identity theft, Internet scams--just as those things can seem deceptively real, they can cause many headaches. Student research is only as good as the sources used, and it can be difficult to distinguish the difference between a bad source and a scholarly one, especially if you are just getting started in research. 
  • In addition to providing a gateway to NC LIVE databases, the library licenses a number of subject-specific databases with full-text articles from scholarly journals and other reliable sources. The library also purchases print books that supplement material taught in the classroom. We provide all types of resources, because we believe it is an important part of every student’s education to be exposed to a variety of resources–particularly those students who will be continuing their education at a college or university.

 

6. Library Databases

  • Many real library resources are available via an Internet connection, but are not available on the "free" Web--these are resources the library purchases to be used by RCC students, faculty, and staff. Library online databases and electronic books can be accessed 24/7 through the library's website.
  • Databases and electronic books are every bit a part of the library's collection as the books and periodicals on the shelves.

 

 

7. Reserves

Materials can be placed on closed reserve (meaning they can only be checked out for use in the library) or on reserve checkout (time specified by instructor). Contact Darla Richardson dsrichardson@randolph.edu.

Here are a couple of things to remember when placing materials on reserve:

  • Make sure the reserve checkout period is reasonable for the number of students in your classes. 

Library Staff

Debbie Luck
Dean of Library Services
e-mail: dsluck@randolph.edu
Phone: 336-633-0272
General library services/policies, cataloging

Jenny Thomas
Information Technology Librarian
e-mail: jsthomas@randolph.edu
Phone: 336-633-0204
M - TH 9:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Technical liaison for all library technology, research assistance, library instruction, evening operations

Donna Windish
Instructional Services Librarian
e-mail: dcwindish@randolph.edu
Phone: 336-633-0204
Research assistance, reference materials, library instruction, reserves policies, copyright

Malinda Jennings
Computer Lab Assistant
e-mail: majennings@randolph.edu
Phone: 336-633-0204
M - TH 10:30 p.m. - 8:00 p.m.
Friday 8:00 a.m. - 3:00 p.m.
Computer assistance, training lab reservations

Pam Pollard
Technical Services Assistant
e-mail: pwpollard@randolph.edu
Phone: 336-633-0204
Book orders

Darla Richardson
Library Services Assistant
e-mail: dsrichardson@randolph.edu
Phone: 336-633-0204
Circulation, overdue notices, interlibrary loans, library computer use, reserve items, library displays