Recommend a Web site
Have a favorite site that you'd like us to include on this page? Submit a link below:
- Find A Grave by DebbieLinks to graves & cemeteries, including those of famous individuals throughout the world.
- Randolph Co. Tourism Development Authority by DebbieNo description
- Randolph Co. Register of Deeds by DebbieReal estate & vital records for Randolph County.
Comments (0)
Almanacs
- CIA: The World FactbookThe U.S. government's complete geographical handbook, featuring 267 full-color maps and flags of all nations. Each country profile tracks such demographics as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data.
- Fact Check"a nonpartisan, nonprofit "consumer advocate" for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases." A Project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center.
- Farmers Almanac
- Guinness World RecordsProviding information on record holders for a variety of feats and accomplishments
- InfoPlease.comAn A to Z keyword index of general, entertainment, and sports almanacs.
Dictionaries & Thesauri
- A Glossary of Rhetorical Terms with ExamplesDefinitions and examples of forty-five traditional rhetorical devices provided by the University of Kentucky Division of Classics.
- Acronym FinderSearchable database containing thousands of acronyms and abbreviations
- Dictionary.com
- Language Dictionaries and Translators
- Lycos RhymeZoneLocate rhymes, synonyms, definitions, and more.
- Merriam-Webster OnlineIncludes online version of the 10th edition (1994) collegiate dictionary and thesaurus.
- OneLook Dictionary SearchUse this site as a search engine for "more than 5 million words in more than 900 online dictionaries." You can define words, translate words, and find words by typing a pattern consisting of letters and the wildcards * and ? to retrieve a list of words matching your pattern. The asterisk (*) matches any number of letters or symbols. The question mark (?) matches exactly one letter or symbol.
- Roget's Thesaurus1911 edition provided by the Gutenberg Project.
- The Free Dictionary
- WriteExpress Online Rhyming DictionaryFind rhyming words with five types of rhymes: beginning, ending, first syllable, last syllable, and double.
Encyclopedias
- Bartleby.comReference sources including dictionaries, encyclopedias, quotations and verse.
- Encyclopedia MythicaAn encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and legend.
- Encyclopedia.comProvides more than 17,000 short articles from the Concise Columbia Electronic Encylopedia, 3rd Edition.
- How Stuff WorksSeries of articles that explore the workings of electronics, computers, autos, finances, health, and scientific and social phenomena. Be advised: site contains numerous ads and pop-ups.
- NC LIVE - EncyclopediasOff-campus use restricted to RCC community
Non-English Language Dictionaries
The following sources may provide simple translations for individual words or may provide definitions in foreign language of foreign-language terms. Some links are to directories from which you can connect to resources from a wide variety of external resources.
- AltaVista-Babel Fish TranslationTranslate a single word, block of text, or Website. Thirteen languages represented.
- Foreign Languages for TravelersLessons in 30+ languages with sound files for pronunciation.
- Language Dictionaries and TranslatorsDictionaries, translator forums and services, language courses, and chat.
- One Look Dictionary SearchSearch engine that indexes dictionary sites from across the Web.
- yourDictionary.comA mega-site with links to dictionaries for scores of languages, some very obscure. Also other language resources.
Quotations
- Bartleby.comSearchable versions of several quotation dictionaries, as well as other reference and literature resources.
- The Quotations PageFeatures quotes collected by author and subject, discussion forums, quotes of the day, and random quotes.
Weather
- Asheboro 10 day forecastFrom the Weather Channel
- Forecasts for NC citiesProvided by the Weather Underground. Includes special weather statements and warnings.
- NOAA - Extended Forecast for NCFrom the National Weather Service


Submit
Loading...
