Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Career Exploration

Library and Internet resources to help you explore possible careers paths

eBook Collections

All links on this page open in a new window.

Downloading eBooks

 

Downloading Content with ProQuest Ebook Central

ProQuest Ebook Central offers flexible options for downloading content. You can download a book, a chapter, a page, or a range of pages to computers, tablets, and phones. Text is searchable and selectable, and a citation is included in a style of your choice.

To download content:

Step 1: Select the device you are using.

Step 2: Install Adobe Digital Editions and create an account

Step 3: Select “Download Your Book” to download

Adobe Digital Editions:

If you’re using a laptop or desktop, you need Adobe Digital Editions, a free program that is different than Adobe Reader.

A free Adobe ID is also required to transfer the ebook to another device, but not if you’re just reading it on the same computer.

On iOS and Android devices, we recommend using the Adobe Digital Editions app, which is free from the Apple App Store and Google Play.

You can use other reader apps as long as they are able to handle the Adobe DRM (Digital Rights Management). Search in the app store of your choice for e.g. 'adobe drm reader' or just 'adobe drm' to get a list of potentially suitable apps.

Please note: You need an Adobe ID to be able to read downloaded books on a mobile device.

(from ProQuest: https://proquest.libguides.com/ebookcentral/download)

 

Downloading Titles from the HomeGrown Ebook Collection

Titles in the HomeGrown Ebook Collection are always available to any library user--with no waiting and no limits. That means there is no need for a holds list, checkout limits, or returns.

For the best experience, NC LIVE recommends accessing the HomeGrown Ebook Collection using the latest version of Google Chrome or Safari. These browsers are both available as a free download. You can still access the collection in other browsers, but you may encounter technical issues.

If you have an iPad, Kindle Fire, or an Android tablet, you can download a title to read it offline. The BiblioBoard Library app is available for iPad®, Kindle Fire HD®, Nexus tablets® and Galaxy Tab® (4.0+) mobile devices.

Note: You must create an account on the BiblioBoard website first before logging into the app. Follow the instructions below:

Step 1: Visit the BiblioBoard website using the HomeGrown Ebook Collection link.

Step 2: Click on the "Menu" link in the upper-left corner.

Step 3: Click "Don't have a profile? Create Yours Now!" and create your own user account. (After filling in a username and password, you will be shown "Your Libraries." You should see your library's name listed with a checkmark next to it. Scroll down and click "Done.")

Step 4: Scroll down to the bottom of the page to the footer, and find the section labeled "We have an app for this!"

Step 5: Download the Biblioboard Library app from the Apple, Google Play, or Amazon app store and login using the account information created in step 3.

(from NC LIVE: https://login.proxy144.nclive.org/login?url=https://www.nclive.org/)

 

Checkout Limits

Most NC LIVE ebooks have no holds and no simultaneous user limits, but a few collections do have limitations.

Collection

Usage Limits

ABC-CLIO E-book Collection

Unlimited users

Credo Reference – Complete Core

Unlimited users

Ebook Central Academic and Public library Complete

Unlimited users

Ebook Central Permanent Collection

Maximum of three users per title for viewing and downloading

eBooks on EBSCOhost

One user per copy; many titles have multiple copies (usage limits = concurrent user level)

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Unlimited users

HomeGrown Ebooks Collection

Unlimited users

Open Library

One user at a time for every title

RBdigital eBooks

Unlimited users for classic titles; One user per copy; many titles have multiple copies

SIRS Discoverer

Unlimited users

Testing & Education Reference Center

Unlimited users

 

Kindle Compatibility

NC LIVE ebooks are not fully supported for download on Kindle devices, although some ebook collections offer unprotected PDFs that can be downloaded to a Kindle, such as Gale Virtual Reference Library and Testing & Education Reference Center.

If you have a Kindle Fire, you can read NC LIVE ebooks in the browser while connected to Wi-Fi.

In eBooks on EBSCOhost, you can send up to 60 pages of an ebook in PDF format to your Kindle device. See these links for instructions:

How can I print or save EBSCO ebook pages as a PDF?

How can I send saved EBSCO ebook pages in PDF format to my Kindle device?

You can also find free, downloadable titles for your Kindle from Project Gutenberg.

(from NC LIVE: https://login.proxy144.nclive.org/login?url=https://www.nclive.org/)

eEncyclopedia

Logging in to Library Databases

Off-Campus access to RCC Library databases is restricted to current students, faculty, & staff.

When prompted, use your MyRCC username and password.

If you do not know your password, use the self password reset site (opens in a new window).

If you still have issues, please call the Information Technology Services' Help Desk at 336-625-1573 or email Help Desk.