It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Links on this guide may go to external web sites not connected with Randolph Community College. Their inclusion is not an endorsement by Randolph Community College and the College is not responsible for the accuracy of their content.
The "professional membership publication of the American Correctional Association (ACA). Its international readership includes individuals involved in every sector of the corrections and criminal justice fields. The magazine is published six times a year." While full content is available by subscription, there are free articles in the "magazine highlights."
The standard resources available for each case include: background summaries and questions, diagrams of how the cases moved through the court system, excerpts from the majority (and where appropriate) the dissenting opinions, and links to the full text of the Supreme Court's decisions.
Since NORC at the University of Chicago was founded in 1941, the independent research organization has been collecting data and developing analytic tools to inform public policy on a range of topics, from economics to education to sustainability. This special section on Criminal Justice offers readers access to some of NORC's most notable work, for, as the site mentions, "A fair and effective justice system is part of the foundation of a successful society, affecting every American citizen, every day." Here readers will find information about prisons, drug markets, crime, juvenile justice, and sexual violence and human trafficking. They may also peruse overviews of some of NORC's Representative Projects on the issues of criminal justice, such as the 2010 National Survey of Prosecutors, the National Longitudinal Survey of Youth 1979, and others. ~From The Scout Report, Copyright Internet Scout 1994-2015. https://www.scout.wisc.edu
Provides links to all Department of Justice agencies such as the Bureau of Justice Statistics and Office for Victims of Crime. Highlights major events, legislation, and newly published reports. Includes direct links to abstracts and full-text databases for searching publications and finding statistical reports.
Provides access to interactive, customizable and up-to-date comparative performance measurement data for 50 states in six key areas: fiscal and economic, public safety and justice, energy and environment, transportation, health and human services, and education. From the Council of State Governments.