Books - DES 255 History of Interiors & Furniture I - Williams - Research Guides at Randolph Community College

Summon Catalog Search

The online catalog contains the records of all the items located in the RCC Library.
Also included are the holdings of 83 other community college libraries that make up the Community Colleges Libraries in North Carolina consortium (CCLINC).
The default search is RCC Library but you can also search "Other NC Community College Libraries" by word or phrase, author, title or subject.
You can borrow materials belonging to other libraries via Place a Hold [PDF] (opens in a new window) (requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
You can renew books, check due dates, and review overdue fines by using My Account (opens in a new window)(requires your student ID or library card barcode number).
You can search the "Reserve Desk" to locate materials by instructor, course number or course name. Reserve materials are located at the library front desk and are usually available for in-library use only.

How to Place a Hold in the Catalog [PDF]

If you are unable to find material in the RCC library, and wish to search other community college libraries in North Carolina, change the library dropbox from Randolph to ALL. This will search 56 North Carolina community college libraries that are members of the CCLINC consortium.

If you find a title in RCC library that is checked out, or if you need a title from another library and wish to request it in RCC Library Catalog (opens in a new window):

Click on the Details button to the left of the title.
Click on Place Hold (first link in the box on the left).
Enter your library account barcode number in the user ID text box (this number should start with 29875). You do NOT need to enter an alternate ID or PIN. If you do not know your card number, contact library@randolph.edu
Click Place Hold.
Your name should appear with a confirmation that the hold has been placed.

You will be notified via email as soon as the material is received.
There is no charge for interlibrary loans from other CCLINC libraries.
It may take 7-10 business days to receive an interlibrary loan item.
Overdue charges apply to interlibrary loans.

Can't find the book you need in CCLINC? Use the Interlibrary Loan Request - Book online form (opens in a new window) to request that we find it for you elsewhere.

All links on this page open in a new window.

Baroque and Rococo Silks by Peter Thornton
Call Number: 677.6 Tho
Covers fashions and silk patterns, the centers of silk-weaving and the sale and use of silk in furnishings; includes color and black-and-white plates
Baroque Architecture by Christian Norberg-Schulz
Call Number: 724.19 Nor
ISBN: 0810910020
Provides an overview of the baroque age along with chapters covering the city, the church, the palace, and the diffusion of baroque architecture across Europe; includes brief biographies of prominent architects; black-and-white sketches and photos
A Directory of Antique French Furniture, 1735-1800 by F. Lewis Hinckley
Call Number: 749.24 Hin
Over 300 black-and-white illustrations of provincial, Parisian,and other European antique furniture along with an overview of designers and craftsmen of Paris and other metropolitan furniture centers in France; a helpful vocabulary list of French terms applied to 18th-century furniture
French furniture : from Louis XIII to art deco by Sylvie Chadenet
Call Number: 749.24 Tou
ISBN: 0821226835
Filled with 750 line drawings and brief descriptive definitions, this book details the salient characteristics that define styles of French furniture from the 16th century, age of Louis XIII, to the end of the 20th century
French Interiors, Furniture, Decoration, Woodwork & Allied Arts, During the Last Half of the Seventeenth Century, the Whole of the Eighteenth Century & the Early Part of the Nineteenth by Thomas Arthur Strange
Call Number: 749.24 Str
Primarily black-and-white photos of items in various palaces and museums; organized by time period and craftsmen/artists; index lists types of items
French Provincial Furniture by Robin Ruddy
Call Number: 749.24 Rud
ISBN: 0764302051
Presents the key types of country furniture in fourteen separate regions of France, explains the differences in their construction and decoration and describes the twenty-one different woods used to make these provincial pieces; separate chapters convey the techniques used by the traditional cabinetmakers; includes a helpful glossary of relevant French words and phrases; illustrated with over 200 color and black-and-white photographs
A History of Textile Art by Agnes Geijer
Call Number: 677.009 Gei
ISBN: 0856670553
Information on French textiles can be found in chapters six and eight; includes black-and-white plates
The Rococo Interior: Decoration and Social Spaces in Early Eighteenth-Century Paris by Katie Scott
Call Number: 747.888 Sco
ISBN: 0300045824
Offers an account of the forms and functions of interior decoration in Parisian domestic architecture during the first half of the 18th century - the period generally known as the rococo - and also explores the relationship between social status and the consumption and display of decoration in public and private interiors