Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Skip to Main Content
chat now!

Faculty Tech: How to bring the Library to your students

What is a permalink?

  • A permalink is a URL that will consistently lead to a specific article, database, or other e-resource. 
  • A permalink may also be called a persistent link, stable URL, durable link, permanent link, document URL or bookmark, depending on the resource.

How do I find permalinks in databases?

Most library databases include the permalink somewhere in the article record. The terms used and the location of these links in the record vary from one database to another. This guide will help you find permalinks in a variety of databases.

Why can't I just copy the URL in my browser's address bar?

URLs that appear in the address bar of your web browser when you search the library's databases usually contain dynamically generated, session-based or search-based information that only works for that search session.

Why would I use a permalink rather than just upload the article into Moodle, Google docs, faculty webpages, email or elsewhere?

You may be in violation of copyright law or license restrictions if you post content without appropriate authorization or permission. Permalinks are approved by the database vendors and are guaranteed to be permanent.

How does a permalink work from off campus?

When on campus, access is automatic. You are being authenticated even if you don't realize it because the database provider is able to recognize the IP address. When using permalinks off campus, you will be prompted to enter your MyRCC username and password.

 

In a Credo Reference record, scroll to the bottom to find the "Retrieved from" URL. This is the permalink to that record in Credo.

If you have any problems or need to link to articles from other providers not listed on this page, please contact library@randolph.edu.

 

 

In a Gale record, scroll to the bottom to find the "Document URL." This is the permalink to that record in Gale.

If you have any problems or need to link to articles from other providers not listed on this page, please contact library@randolph.edu.

 

In a ProQuest record, scroll down to “Indexing (Details)” to find the "Document URL." This is the permalink to that record in ProQuest.

If you have any problems or need to link to articles from other providers not listed on this page, please contact library@randolph.edu.