Research Guides: Home Grown eBooks Collection: About Home Grown eBooks

Overview

Home Grown eBooks Collection (BiblioLabs) This link opens in a new window

Hosted by the content manager BiblioBoard Library, the Home Grown eBooks collection offers free book titles for users of NC LIVE. The collection was created with donations from libraries across the state and offers fiction and nonfiction titles from North Carolina publishers.

Within Home Grown eBooks collection users can

view eBooks from their computers or on mobile devices,
create a user profile,
locate citations,
use advanced search,
browse by category or module,
enjoy publications from North Carolina publishers!

Modules

BiblioBoard Access:

This module contains content from such highly regarded institutions as the National Library of Finland and the National Library of Spain, commingled with rare, valued materials from smaller groups. These forward-thinking organizations are utilizing BiblioBoard’s reach to openly share some of their most unique and interesting digital artifacts around the world.

BiblioBoard Core:

Covering a wide range of topics—including Literature, Philosophy, History, Geography and Science—BiblioBoard Core is BiblioBoard’s chief historical database. BiblioBoard Core contains 400 Anthologies with over 14,000 full-text eBooks and over 24,000 pieces of primary source content. BiblioBoard Core Anthologies cover a range of topics from Abraham Lincoln and the Alamo to ballet, baking, chocolate, Mozart, Jack London and Victorian Fashion.

NC LIVE:

This Module from NC LIVE contains a wide selection of content including innovative fiction, nonfiction, mystery & suspense, horror, fantasy, travel guides and much more.

Featured eBooks

The Clock Flower by Adrian Rice
ISBN: 9781935708995
Publication Date: 2013-11-01
"...Along with the poetry comes a growing awareness of the 'independent airs' of radical Belfast, of the great dissenting tradition of the past, of an integrationist stance. Birds flying in and out of The Clock Flower poems—blackbirds, sparrows, hawks, jays—put us in mind of John Hewitt's lines about staking his future on 'birds flying in and out of the schoolroom window.' Hewitt, and beyond him the 19th-century Dr. William Drennan (subject of Rice's MPhil thesis), are exemplars for this poet. But Rice's voice is distinctively his own: forthright, colloquial, wry and persuasive." —Patricia Craig, Times Literary Supplement
The Art Forger by B. A. Shapiro
ISBN: 9781616203160
Publication Date: 2013-05-21
Almost twenty-five years after the infamous art heist at the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum--still the largest unsolved art theft in history--one of the stolen Degas paintings is delivered to the Boston studio of a young artist. Claire Roth has entered into a Faustian bargain with a powerful gallery owner by agreeing to forge the Degas in exchange for a one-woman show in his renowned gallery. But as she begins her work, she starts to suspect that this long-missing masterpiece--the very one that had been hanging at the Gardner for one hundred years--may itself be a forgery. The Art Forger is a thrilling novel about seeing--and not seeing--the secrets that lie beneath the canvas.
Backpacking North Carolina by Joe Miller
ISBN: 9780807877944
Publication Date: 2011-03-21
Joe Miller brings us the first-ever stand-alone guidebook to backpacking in North Carolina, a state long known as a terrific backpacking destination. Covering 43 of the best trips the state has to offer, Backpacking North Carolina provides all the information necessary for beginning and experienced backpackers alike to enjoy hiking destinations from the mountains to the coast.
Water for Elephants by Sara Gruen
ISBN: 9781565125605
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
Though he may not speak of them, the memories still dwell inside Jacob Jankowski's ninety-something-year-old mind. Memories of himself as a young man, tossed by fate onto a rickety train that was home to the Benzini Brothers Most Spectacular Show on Earth. Memories of a world filled with freaks and clowns, with wonder and pain and anger and passion; a world with its own narrow, irrational rules, its own way of life, and its own way of death.

Antiques & Collectibles	Architecture
Art	Biography & Autobiography
Body, Mind & Spirit	Business & Economics
Comics & Graphic Novels	Cooking
Crafts & Hobbies	Design
Drama	Education
Family & Relationships	Fiction
Games	Gardening
Health & Fitness	History
House & Home	Humor
Juvenile Fiction	Juvenile Nonfiction
Language Arts & Disciplines	Law
Literary Collections	Literary Criticism
Mathematics	Medical
Music	Nature
Performing Arts	Pets
Philosophy	Photography
Poetry	Political Science
Psychology	Reference
Religion	Science
Social Science	Sports & Recreation
Study Aids	Technology & Engineering
Transportation	Travel
True Crime

Home Grown eBooks Collection