Links on this guide may go to external web sites not connected with Randolph Community College. Their inclusion is not an endorsement by Randolph Community College and the College is not responsible for the accuracy of their content or the security of their site.
The U.S. government's complete geographical handbook, featuring 267 full-color maps and flags of all nations. Each country profile tracks demographics such as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data.
Downloadable annual reports from the World Bank on topics such as starting a business, protecting investors, paying taxes, and getting credit. Includes country specific reports (such as “Doing Business in Brazil”), and also 155 printable country data profiles.
Features "information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities." Research materials include country profiles (with business climate, history and politics, and statistics); a searchable, topical directory of international business resources; market indicators; and a glossary. The site also features news and commentary, a discussion board and chat room, and academic research resources. From Michigan State University.
Includes the cultures of 32 countries and six regions around the world with links to individual country pages, regions, and other resources. All country pages contain basic country information and fun facts; Geert Hofstede's dominant dimension profiles; sections on religion, appearance, behavior, and communication; and a brief set of links to country-specific books and other Internet resources
"This site is an excellent hub for global data covering a wide range of topics and includes educational data, climate change and environmental information, agriculture and economic information, measures of poverty, health, gender equity, and more." ~American Library Association
"The WTO Data portal contains statistical indicators related to WTO issues. Available time series cover merchandise trade and trade in services statistics, market access indicators (bound, applied & preferential tariffs), non-tariff information as well as other indicators.
Data retrieval functionalities include data selection, display and export, including available metadata. "
This site "is the flagship publication of the Yale Center for the Study of Globalization. The magazine explores the implications of the growing interconnectedness of the world." Articles are browsable by region or by subject area such as the environment, gender, politics, science and technology, security and terrorism, and trade. Also provides an introduction to the topic of globalization and links to related sites.