Skip to main content

Library Research

Use this guide to learn how to define a topic, develop a research strategy, find books and articles and cite your sources.

About Article Databases

  • "Articles" can be found in newspapers, magazines, or journals (collectively called periodicals).  
  • Unlike some Web pages, an article is edited and checked for accuracy.
  • Some periodicals are available in print, but they are often licensed for electronic format, too.
  • Electronic periodicals are often called article indexes, or article databases, or online databases.

A-Z Database List

 

Use Library Databases

  • to locate full-text scholarly journal, magazine & newspaper articles
  • eBooks and audiobooks
  • streaming videos

Most databases are discipline specific, so choose one that relates to your subject. For example, if you're doing literary criticism, choose Literature Resource Center.

Scholarly vs. Popular Articles

 

Databases often have features that help you limit your results to find only Scholarly or Peer Reviewed journals. See the example below from ProQuest Central.

 

 

Use the "Narrow results by" feature to limit your search to Peer reviewed or Scholarly Journals.

 

Thank you to M.M. Bennett Libraries, St. Petersburg College, FL for allowing us to use content from their LibGuides and to Central Carolina Community College Library for the use of their H5P content.

Loading ...

Logging in to Library Databases

Off-Campus access to RCC Library databases is restricted to current students, faculty, & staff.

When prompted, use your MyRCC username and password.

If you do not know your password, use the self password reset site.

If you still have issues, please call the Information Technology Services' Help Desk at 336-625-1573 or email cchelpdesk@randolph.edu.