Evaluating Health Info on the Web
This is the "General
 " page of the "Websites by Topic" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Looking for some of the best of the web? Explore these sites hand-picked by library information experts.
Last Updated: Jul 14, 2014 URL: http://libguides.randolph.edu/sites Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

General   Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Disclaimer

Links on this guide go to external web sites not connected with Randolph Community College.  Their inclusion is not an endorsement by Randolph Community College and the College is not responsible for accuracy of their content.

Almanacs

  • CIA: The World Factbook
    The U.S. government's complete geographical handbook, featuring 267 full-color maps and flags of all nations. Each country profile tracks such demographics as population, ethnicity and literacy rates, as well as political, geographical and economic data.
  • Fact Check
    "a nonpartisan, nonprofit "consumer advocate" for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases." A Project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center.
  • Farmers Almanac
  • Guinness World Records
    Providing information on record holders for a variety of feats and accomplishments
  • InfoPlease.com
    An A to Z keyword index of general, entertainment, and sports almanacs.

Dictionaries & Thesauri

  • A Glossary of Rhetorical Terms with Examples
    Definitions and examples of forty-five traditional rhetorical devices provided by the University of Kentucky Division of Classics.
  • Acronym Finder
    Searchable database containing thousands of acronyms and abbreviations
  • Collins Dictionaries
    The site is built upon ten dictionaries and two thesauri: a dictionary plus thesaurus for American English, and another for British/worldwide English, along with dictionary pairs for working between English and each of four other languages--French-to-English, English-to-French, and the same for German, Italian, and Spanish.
  • Dictionary.com
  • Language Dictionaries and Translators
  • Lycos RhymeZone
    Locate rhymes, synonyms, definitions, and more.
  • Merriam-Webster Online
    Includes online version of the 10th edition (1994) collegiate dictionary and thesaurus.
  • OneLook Dictionary Search
    Use this site as a search engine for "more than 5 million words in more than 900 online dictionaries." You can define words, translate words, and find words by typing a pattern consisting of letters and the wildcards * and ? to retrieve a list of words matching your pattern. The asterisk (*) matches any number of letters or symbols. The question mark (?) matches exactly one letter or symbol.
  • Roget's Thesaurus
    Searchable 1911 edition hosted by the University of Chicago
  • The Free Dictionary
  • WriteExpress Online Rhyming Dictionary
    Find rhyming words with five types of rhymes: beginning, ending, first syllable, last syllable, and double.

Encyclopedias

  • Bartleby.com
    Reference sources including dictionaries, encyclopedias, quotations and verse.
  • Encyclopedia Mythica
    An encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and legend.
  • Encyclopedia.com
    Provides more than 17,000 short articles from the Concise Columbia Electronic Encylopedia, 3rd Edition.
  • How Stuff Works
    Series of articles that explore the workings of electronics, computers, autos, finances, health, and scientific and social phenomena. Be advised: site contains numerous ads and pop-ups.
  • NC LIVE - Encyclopedias
    Off-campus use restricted to RCC community

Non-English Language Dictionaries

The following sources may provide simple translations for individual words or may provide definitions in foreign language of foreign-language terms. Some links are to directories from which you can connect to resources from a wide variety of external resources.

Quotations

  • Bartleby.com
    Searchable versions of several quotation dictionaries, as well as other reference and literature resources.
  • The Quotations Page
    Features quotes collected by author and subject, discussion forums, quotes of the day, and random quotes.

Weather

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip