- Research Tutorials
- Library Research
- Use the Catalog
- Use Databases
- Use Films on Demand
- Use Home Grown eBooks
- Use NC LIVE
- Evaluating Sources
- Primary vs. Secondary
- Scholarly vs. Popular
- Websites
- News
- Make an Appointment
Service Alert
Finding Aid: Complete. Written by Laura Silva, January 2023
Part of the Randolph County Community College Archives Repository
https://libguides.randolph.edu/archives
Contact:
Randolph Community College Library
629 Industrial Park Avenue
Asheboro, NC 27205
library@randolph.edu
Collection Number: RC-10
Extent: 3.36 linear feet, 6 document boxes
Dates: 1963-2022
Abstract: This collection contains materials from campus and community events related to RCC, especially graduation and pinning ceremonies. Programs are heavily represented along with some planning documents, copies of speeches, invite and attendee lists, advertising material, and payment information.
Language: English
Access Restrictions: Open for research.
Copyright Notice: Copyright is retained by the authors of items in these papers, or their descendants, as stipulated by United States copyright law.
Preferred Citation: [Item title/description, date, and creator.] Events Collection, College Archives, Randolph Community College.
Acquisition: Materials found in collection; there is no documentation concerning the provenance of these materials. Bulk of materials collected by Clark Adams or Debbie Luck. Current event materials are transferred to the archives by the producing department.
Accruals: Additions to the collection will be made regularly as items are transferred or donated to the Archives.
Sensitive Materials Statement: Archives collections may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information which is protected under federal or state privacy laws. Researchers are advised that the disclosure of certain information pertaining to identifiable living individuals represented in the collections without the consent of those individuals may have legal ramifications for which Randolph Community College assumes no responsibility.
Processed by: Some materials initially processed by RCC staff, date(s) unknown. Additional processing by Laura Silva, Fall 2022
Historical Information
The Events Collection spans 1963 to the present and includes material related to Randolph Community College events as well as selected community and system-wide community college events.
Scope and Content
The collection includes material related to a wide range of campus events, spanning the first graduation ceremony in 1963 to the present day. The material documents many aspects of college life including graduation and awards ceremonies, inaugurations, orientations and convocations, dedications and groundbreaking ceremonies, student group events, employee appreciation events, academic showcases, and community events. Programs make up the bulk of the collections, while planning documents, invitations, mailing lists, speeches, advertisements, and payment information are also included in some files.
Related Materials
Campus events require involvement from nearly every department and additional information may be found throughout the Archives' holdings.
The majority of our campus-wide graduation programs have been digitized and are available online. You can find the links here, or by going to the main Archives homepage and navigating to 'Explore the Collections', then 'Digital Collections'.
Separated Materials
Materials related to events held by the RCC Foundation are held in RC-06, the Foundation Collection, and those held by the Learning Resources Center are in RC-03.01, the Learning Resources Center Collection.
Arrangement
The collection has been arranged into seven series:
Series 1. Graduation and Pinning Ceremonies
Series 2. Randolph Early College High School Events
Series 3. Orientations, Convocations, and Awards Ceremonies
Series 4. Inaugurations, Dedications, and Groundbreakings
Series 5. Campus Life Events
Series 6. Exhibitions, Showcases, and other Academic Events
Series 7. North Carolina Community College System and Community Events.
Within each series, materials are grouped by the type of event and arranged in chronological order. Within each folder, materials are arranged in rough chronological order. Undated folders and items are held last.
Processing Information
Original file names were used where available; Materials were placed in acid free folders and boxes. Duplicates, binder clips, paperclips, and rusty staples were removed.
Scope and Contents
This series includes programs as well as planning documents, invitations, press releases, news clippings, lists of graduates, biographical information on the graduation speaker, copies of speeches, and correspondence related to graduation and pinning ceremonies held by a variety of departments. Curriculum, Continuing Education, Adult Basic Life Skills, and College & Career Readiness ceremonies are held first in chronological order, followed by departmental ceremonies. These programs sometimes held joint ceremonies, while in other years they were separate.
The date listed indicates the date that the ceremony was held. Planning documents and correspondence may include a wider date range.
The title of each folder reflects the title of the program at the time of the ceremony. In 2013, the Adult High School / GED program was renamed "College and Career Readiness". Today, that program also includes Adult Basic Education (ABE) and English to Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL). Prior to 2016, Adult Basic Life-Skills Education (ABLE) was referred to as Compensatory Education (CE).
Many of our graduation programs have been digitized and are available online. You can find the links here, or by going to the main Archives homepage and navigating to 'Explore the Collections', then 'Digital Collections'.
Contents List
| Container | Title | Date |
|
1.1 |
1963 Graduation |
1963 |
|
1.2 |
1964 Graduation Exercises |
16 August 1964 |
|
1.3 |
1965 Graduation Exercises |
22 August 1965 |
|
1.4 |
1966 Graduation Exercises |
28 August 1966 |
|
1.5 |
1966 Adult Basic Education Graduation |
17 November 1966 |
|
1.6 |
1967 Graduation Exercises |
27 August 1967 |
|
1.7 |
1968 Graduation Exercises |
25 August 1968 |
|
1.8 |
1969 Graduation Exercises |
24 August 1969 |
|
1.9 |
1970 Graduation Exercises |
23 August 1970 |
|
1.10 |
1971 Graduation Exercises |
22 August 1971 |
|
1.11 |
1972 Graduation Exercises |
20 August 1972 |
|
1.12 |
1973 Graduation |
26 August 1973 |
|
1.13 |
1973 High School Equivalency Graduation |
10 September 1973 |
|
1.14 |
1974 Graduation |
18 August 1974 |
|
1.15 |
1975 Graduation |
24 August 1975 |
|
1.16 |
1976 Graduation |
22 August 1976 |
|
1.17 |
1977 Graduation |
21 August 1977 |
|
1.18 |
1978 Graduation |
20 August 1978 |
|
1.19 |
1979 Graduation |
19 August 1979 |
|
1.20 |
1980 Graduation |
24 August 1980 |
|
1.21 |
1981 Graduation |
30 August 1981 |
|
2.1 |
1982 Graduation |
29 August 1982 |
|
2.2 |
1983 Graduation Ceremonies |
28 August 1983 |
|
2.3 |
1984 Graduation Ceremonies |
26 August 1984 |
|
2.4 |
1985 Graduation Exercises |
25 August 1985 |
|
2.5 |
1986 Graduation |
24 August 1986 |
|
2.6 |
1987 Graduation |
30 August 1987 |
|
2.7 |
1988 Graduation Ceremonies |
28 August 1988 |
|
2.8 |
1989 Graduation |
27 August 1989 |
|
2.9 |
1990 Adult High School / GED Graduation |
3 June 1990 |
|
2.10 |
1990 Curriculum Graduation |
26 August 1990 |
|
2.11 |
1991 Adult High School / GED Graduation |
19 May 1991 |
|
2.12 |
1991 Curriculum Graduation |
25 August 1991 |
|
2.13 |
1992 Adult High School / GED Graduation |
17 May 1992 |
|
2.14 |
1992 Curriculum Graduation |
30 August 1992 |
|
3.1 |
1993 Adult High School / GED Graduation |
23 May 1993 |
|
3.2 |
1993 Curriculum Graduation |
29 August 1993 |
|
3.3 |
1994 Adult High School / GED Graduation |
22 April 1994 |
|
3.4 |
1994 Adult High School / GED Graduation |
15 May 1994 |
|
3.5 |
1994 Curriculum Graduation |
28 August 1994 |
|
3.6 |
1995 Adult High School / GED Graduation |
4 June 1995 |
|
3.7 |
1995 Curriculum Graduation |
27 August 1995 |
|
3.8 |
1996 Adult High School / GED Graduation |
9 June 1996 |
|
3.9 |
1996 Curriculum Graduation |
25 August 1996 |
|
3.10 |
1997 Adult High School / GED Graduation |
8 June 1997 |
|
3.11 |
1997 Curriculum Graduation |
24 August 1997 |
|
3.12 |
1998 Curriculum, Adult High School, and GED Graduation |
15 August 1998 |
|
3.13 |
1999 Curriculum, Adult High School, and GED Graduation |
14 August 1999 |
|
3.14 |
2000 Curriculum, Adult High School, and GED Graduation |
12 August 2000 |
|
3.15 |
2001 Curriculum, Adult High School, and GED Graduation |
11 August 2001 |
|
3.16 |
2002 Curriculum, Adult High School, and GED Graduations |
11 May 2002 |
|
3.17 |
2003 Curriculum, Adult High School, and GED Graduation |
10 May 2003 |
|
3.18 |
2004 Curriculum, Adult High School, and GED Graduation |
8 May 2004 |
|
3.19 |
2005 Curriculum, Adult High School, and GED Graduation |
13 May 2005 |
|
3.20 |
2006 Curriculum, Adult High School, and GED Graduation |
13 May 2006 |
|
4.1 |
2007 Curriculum, Adult High School, and GED Graduation |
12 May 2007 |
|
4.2 |
2008 Curriculum Graduation |
9 May 2008 |
|
4.3 |
2008 Adult High School / GED Graduation |
10 May 2008 |
|
4.4 |
2009 Curriculum Graduation |
8 May 2009 |
|
4.5 |
2009 Adult High School / GED Graduation |
9 May 2009 |
|
4.6 |
2009 Adult High School / GED Graduation |
17 December 2009 |
|
4.7 |
2010 Curriculum Graduation |
12 May 2010 |
|
4.8 |
2010 Adult High School / GED Graduation |
13 May 2010 |
|
4.9 |
2010 Adult High School / GED Graduation |
16 August 2010 |
|
4.10 |
2010 Adult High School / GED Graduation |
16 December 2010 |
|
4.11 |
2011 Curriculum Graduation |
11 May 2011 |
|
4.12 |
2011 Adult High School / GED Graduation |
13 May 2011 |
|
4.13 |
2011 Adult High School / GED Graduation |
15 August 2011 |
|
4.14 |
2011 Adult High School / GED and Career College Graduation |
14 December 2011 |
|
4.15 |
2012 Curriculum Graduation |
9 May 2012 |
|
4.16 |
2012 Adult High School / GED and Career College Graduation |
14 May 2012 |
|
4.17 |
2012 Adult High School / GED Graduation |
14 August 2012 |
|
4.18 |
2012 Adult High School / GED Graduation |
17 December 2012 |
|
4.19 |
2013 Career College Graduation & Compensatory |
11 January 2013 |
|
4.20 |
2013 Curriculum Graduation |
8 May 2013 |
|
4.21 |
2013 College and Career Readiness Graduation |
18 June 2013 |
|
4.22 |
2013 College and Career Readiness Graduation |
16 December 2013 |
|
4.23 |
2014 Curriculum Graduation |
14 May 2014 |
|
4.24 |
2014 Career College Graduation & Compensatory |
22 May 2014 |
|
4.25 |
2014 College and Career Readiness Graduation |
16 December 2014 |
|
4.26 |
2015 Curriculum Graduation |
13 May 2015 |
|
4.27 |
2015 Career College Graduation & Compensatory |
14 May 2015 |
|
4.28 |
2015 College and Career Readiness Graduation |
16 June 2015 |
|
4.29 |
2015 College and Career Readiness Graduation |
14 December 2015 |
|
4.30 |
2016 Curriculum Graduation |
11 May 2016 |
|
4.31 |
2016 Career College Graduation & Adult Basic Life-Skills |
16 May 2016 |
|
4.32 |
2016 College and Career Readiness Graduation |
17 May 2016 |
|
4.33 |
2016 College and Career Readiness Graduation |
14 December 2016 |
|
4.34 |
2017 Curriculum Graduation |
10 May 2017 |
|
4.35 |
2017 College and Career Readiness Graduation |
11 May 2017 |
|
4.36 |
2017 College and Career Readiness Graduation |
14 December 2017 |
|
4.37 |
2018 Curriculum Graduation |
9 May 2018 |
|
4.38 |
2018 College and Career Readiness Graduation |
10 May 2018 |
|
4.39 |
2018 College and Career Readiness Graduation |
13 December 2018 |
|
4.40 |
2019 Curriculum Graduation |
8 May 2019 |
|
4.41 |
2019 College and Career Readiness Graduation |
9 May 2019 |
|
4.42 |
2019 College and Career Readiness Graduation |
12 December 2019 |
|
4.43 |
2020 Curriculum Graduation |
2020 |
|
4.44 |
2021 Curriculum Graduation |
2021 |
|
4.45 |
2022 College and Career Readiness Graduation |
12 May 2022 |
| 4.46 | 2022 College and Career Readiness Graduation | 15 December 2022 |
|
4.47 |
2022 Curriculum Graduation |
2022 |
|
5.1 |
2004 Basic Law Enforcement Training Recognition Ceremony |
10 May 2004 |
|
5.2 |
2007 Basic Law Enforcement Training Recognition Ceremonies |
3 April – 22 May 2007 |
|
5.3 |
2008 Basic Law Enforcement Training Recognition Ceremony |
8 April 2008 |
|
5.4 |
2009 Basic Law Enforcement Training Recognition Ceremony |
31 May 2009 |
|
5.5 |
2011 Basic Law Enforcement Training Recognition Ceremony |
27 May 2011 |
|
5.6 |
2012 Basic Law Enforcement Training Recognition Ceremony |
18 May 2012 |
|
5.7 |
2013 Basic Law Enforcement Training Recognition Ceremony |
30 May 2013 |
|
5.8 |
2014 Basic Law Enforcement Training Recognition Ceremony |
30 May 2014 |
|
5.9 |
2015 Basic Law Enforcement Training Recognition Ceremony |
12 June 2015 |
|
5.10 |
2016 Basic Law Enforcement Training Recognition Ceremony |
3 June 2016 |
|
5.11 |
2017 Basic Law Enforcement Training Recognition Ceremonies |
1 June – 19 December 2017 |
|
5.12 |
2018 Basic Law Enforcement Training Graduations |
24 May – 18 December 2018 |
|
5.13 |
2019 Basic Law Enforcement Training Graduations |
14 May – 19 December 2019 |
|
5.14 |
2022 Basic Law Enforcement Training Graduations |
13 May – 9 December 2022 |
|
5.15 |
Continuing Education Health Careers Graduation |
24 January |
|
5.16 |
Cosmetology Pinning and Graduation Ceremonies |
29 July 2010 – 9 May 2011 |
|
5.17 |
Emergency Services Pinning |
24 March 2007 |
|
5.18 |
ESOL Ceremony |
10 August 2013 |
|
5.19 |
2012 Firefighter Graduations |
24 May – 6 December 2012 |
|
5.20 |
2013 Firefighter Graduation |
23 May 2013 |
|
5.21 |
2014 Firefighter Graduation |
25 November 2014 |
|
5.22 |
2015 Firefighter Graduations |
6 May – 7 December 2015 |
|
5.23 |
2018 Firefighter Graduation |
2 May 2018 |
|
5.24 |
Medical Assisting Graduate Banquets |
8 May 2015 – 2 May 2019 |
|
5.25 |
Medical Assisting Graduate Banquets |
7 May 2020 – 9 May 2022 |
|
5.26 |
Medical Office Assistant Graduation |
23 April 2005 |
|
5.27 |
Medical Office & Administrative Assistant Graduation |
19 July 2008 |
|
5.28 |
Medical Office Assistant Graduation |
17 October 2009 |
|
5.29 |
Medical Office Assistant & JobsNOW Graduation |
15 December 2010 |
|
5.30 |
Nursing Pinning Ceremony |
21 March 1965 |
|
5.31 |
Nursing Pinning Ceremony |
28 August 1981 |
|
5.32 |
Nursing Pinning Ceremony |
8 June 1997 |
|
5.33 |
Nursing Pinning Ceremony |
14 May 2005 |
|
5.34 |
Nursing Pinning Ceremony |
12 May 2007 |
|
5.35 |
Nursing Pinning Ceremony |
10 May 2008 |
|
5.36 |
Nursing Pinning Ceremony |
9 May 2009 |
|
5.37 |
Nursing Pinning Ceremony |
15 May 2010 |
|
5.38 |
Nursing Pinning Ceremony |
5 May 2012 |
|
5.39 |
Nursing Pinning Ceremonies |
4 May – 26 July 2013 |
|
5.40 |
Nursing Pinning Ceremonies |
10 May – 29 July 2014 |
|
5.41 |
Nursing Pinning Ceremony |
9 May 2015 |
|
5.42 |
Nursing Pinning Ceremony |
10 May 2016 |
|
5.43 |
Nursing Pinning Ceremony |
9 May 2017 |
|
5.44 |
Nursing Pinning Ceremony |
8 May 2018 |
|
5.45 |
Nursing Pinning Ceremony |
7 May 2019 |
|
5.46 |
Nursing Pinning Ceremony |
12 May 2020 |
|
5.47 |
Nursing Pinning Ceremony |
9 May 2022 |
|
5.48 |
Paramedic Pinning Ceremonies |
17 November 2015 – 1 November 2017 |
|
5.49 |
Radiography Pinning Ceremonies |
11 May 2007 – 7 May 2009 |
|
5.50 |
Radiography Pinning Ceremonies |
5 May 2012 – 9 May 2015 |
|
5.51 |
Radiography Pinning Ceremonies |
9 May 2016 – 12 May 2020 |
|
5.52 |
Radiography Pinning Ceremony |
5 May 2022 |
|
5.53 |
Student Leadership Academy Graduations |
13 April 2010 – 20 March 2018 |
Scope and Contents
Series 2 is comprised of programs from events held by the Randolph Early College High School (RECHS) from its inception in 2006 to the present day. Commencement ceremonies are heavily represented, along with awards nights, baccalaureate programs, and student of the month ceremonies.
Contents List
| Container | Title | Date |
|
5.55 |
Convocation |
9 August 2006 |
|
5.56 |
Senior Academic Awards night |
22 April 2010 |
|
5.57 |
Baccalaureate Program |
16 May 2010 |
|
5.58 |
Commencement |
19 May 2010 |
|
5.59 |
Celebration of Achievement |
3 May 2011 |
|
5.60 |
Baccalaureate Program |
15 May 2011 |
|
5.61 |
Commencement |
18 May 2011 |
|
5.62 |
Celebration of Achievement & Baccalaureate Ceremony |
6 May 2012 |
|
5.63 |
Commencement |
17 May 2012 |
|
5.64 |
Celebration of Achievement |
10 May 2013 |
|
5.65 |
Commencement |
16 May 2013 |
|
5.66 |
Celebration of Achievement |
15 May 2014 |
|
5.67 |
Commencement |
20 May 2014 |
|
5.68 |
Celebration of Achievement |
14 May 2015 |
|
5.69 |
Commencement |
19 May 2015 |
|
5.70 |
Celebration of Achievement |
12 May 2016 |
|
5.71 |
Commencement |
17 May 2016 |
|
5.72 |
Celebration of Achievement |
11 May 2017 |
|
5.73 |
Commencement |
18 May 2017 |
|
5.74 |
Celebration of Achievement |
10 May 2018 |
|
5.75 |
Commencement |
17 May 2018 |
|
5.76 |
Student of the Month Recognition Ceremony |
2 May 2019 |
|
5.77 |
Celebration of Achievement |
9 May 2019 |
|
5.78 |
Commencement |
17 May 2019 |
|
5.79 |
Celebration of Achievement |
12 May 2021 |
|
5.80 |
Commencement |
21 May 2021 |
Scope and Contents
This series includes programs, correspondence, and planning documents related to student orientation, convocations, and student awards ceremonies. Material related to high school awards ceremonies may be found in Series 2. Randolph Early College High School Events.
Contents List
| Container | Title | Date |
|
6.1 |
Orientations |
1974-1977 |
|
6.2 |
Orientations |
1980-1987 |
|
6.3 |
Fall Convocation |
12 August 2010 |
|
6.4 |
Fall Convocation |
11 August 2011 |
|
6.5 |
Student Academic Honors Awards Ceremonies |
29 April 2010 – 20 April 2017 |
Scope and Contents
This series is made up of invitations, programs, and other material documenting presidential installations, space dedications, and building groundbreakings.
Contents List
| Container | Title | Date |
|
6.6 |
College Appreciation Breakfast & Presidential Installation |
18 August 2000 |
|
6.7 |
Reception in honor of Dr. Richard Heckman |
29 June 2006 |
|
6.8 |
Inauguration of Dr. Robert S. Shackleford Jr. |
8 March 2007 |
|
6.9 |
Richard Petty Education Center Open House |
23 July 2009 |
|
6.10 |
Martha Luck Comer Foundation Conference Center Dedication |
6 April 2017 |
|
6.11 |
Allied Health Center Ribbon Cutting |
27 April 2022 |
Scope and Contents
Series 5 includes documents from a variety of campus events held for students and staff. Programs and invitations make up the bulk of this series, especially from employee appreciation events, holiday celebrations, and cultural arts series.
| Container | Title | Date |
|
6.12 |
Open Houses |
1980-1981 |
| 6.13 | Adjunct Faculty Fall Meetings | 19 August 1997 – 11 August 2008 |
|
6.14 |
Coming Together: Understanding our National Tragedy |
21 September 2001 |
|
6.15 |
Employee Appreciation Events |
2001 – 22 October 2013 |
|
6.16 |
Theatre programs |
Circa 2004 – 4 November 2007 |
|
6.17 |
Constitution Day |
20 September 2005 |
|
6.18 |
Spring Fest / Hawaiian Luau |
20 April 2006 |
|
6.19 |
Holiday parties |
18 December 2007 - 12 December 2012 |
|
6.20 |
Memorandum of Understanding Signing Ceremony |
13 August 2008 |
|
6.21 |
Cultural Arts Series |
2009-2015 |
|
6.22 |
Morris Morrison Event |
28 September 2011 |
|
6.23 |
Veterans Day Ceremonies |
10 November 2011 – 9 November 2017 |
|
6.24 |
Hoedown |
20 October 2014 |
|
6.25 |
Breakfast with the President |
15 February 2022 |
|
6.26 |
Retiree Event |
21 October 2022 |
|
6.27 |
Faculty Association Events |
17 August |
Scope and Contents
This series includes documents from student exhibitions, showcases, and other academic events.
Promotional material from Interior Design Showcases is heavily represented. RCC's interior design program was established in 1967 and the Showcase became a cornerstone of the program in the 1970s. Students worked in teams to redesign a house on a limited budget. These projects often involved other departments assisting in the renovations, including electrical and floriculture students. Tickets were sold for public viewing, and proceeds were used to fund the following year's project.
Contents List
| Container | Title | Date |
|
6.28 |
Interior Design Showcase: The Lambert House |
28 April - 6 May 1984 |
|
6.29 |
Interior Design Showcase: The Davidson House |
1999 |
|
6.30 |
Interior Design Anniversary and Reunion |
27 October 2012 |
|
6.31 |
Student Photography Exhibitions |
2004, 2010 |
|
6.32 |
Apprenticeship Randolph Signing Ceremonies |
2018-2022 |
Scope and Contents
Series 7 includes programs from North Carolina Community College System events as well as events held on RCC's campus for the community at large.
Contents List
| Container | Title | Date |
|
6.33 |
Academic Excellence Awards |
24 April 2007 |
|
6.34 |
Educators’ Luncheon |
3 April 2009 |
|
6.35 |
Rick Smith: Still Hanging in There |
12 January 2012 |
|
6.36 |
Salem College Dance Company Spring Student Choreography Concert |
24 April 2014 |
|
6.37 |
Caregiver College |
21 May 2016 |
|
6.38 |
Junior Sheriff's Academy Graduations |
2018-2019 |
