Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RCC Archival Collections

The Archives Collection includes manuscripts, records, publications, photographs, art, and memorabilia related to the history of the institution.

Digital Collections

Selections from the Archives collections have been digitized and are available online. Please note that these materials represent only a fraction of the physical Archives holdings.

Digitized materials include:

 

Digitized scrapbooks, photographs, course catalogs, and annual reports are available through DigitalNC, a statewide digitization and digital publishing program hosted by UNC Chapel Hill's Wilson Special Collections Library. Click here to view all of the RCC material available through DigitalNC.

Course Catalogs

A copy of each college catalog from the earliest known volume (1964-1965) to present is housed in the collection.  Catalogs provide information on college policies, programs, and many provide a list of Board of Trustee members and full-time faculty and staff.

Student Publications

Student publications contain informative articles, poetry, and prose written by students, faculty and staff. 

The Eye, published in 1968, was the first student publication on campus.

Uwharrie Dreams, published by the Uwharrie Dreams Creative Writing Club, was first published in 2002 and continues to the present. Some individual issues have had unique titles, while most have used Uwharrie Dreams.

Photographs

Several hundred photographs documenting the history of the college have been digitized. Images available online are primarily from the 1990s; more images will be added to this database as they are digitized. 

Scrapbooks

Scrapbooks of ephemera including newspaper clippings, press releases, advertisements, and other related pieces tracing the development of the college were created by staff from 1962-2006 and are maintained in the collection. Nine of the oldest books, dated 1961-1987, have been digitized and are available online. 

RCC Foundation Documents

Dr. Larry Keith Linker was employed at Randolph Community College from 1963-2000.  From 1988-2000, Linker served as President of the college. In 2006, he returned to serve as Interim President.  In 1979, Linker completed his Doctor of Education from Nova Southeastern University and his dissertation was entitled A Plan to Establish a Foundation at Randolph Technical College.  Linker’s dissertation was what initiated the establishment of the Foundation at Randolph Community College. 

Beginning in 1980, the Foundation began publishing Annual Reports of activities, scholarships, revenue, operating expenses, and grants. In 1993, the Annual Report became known as the Report To the Community.  This publication featured both text and photography and provided a more comprehensive yearly report of campus wide events and activities.  In the fall of 2013, the first volume of the Randolph Community College Magazine & Report to the Community was published which allowed the college to merge a college magazine with the Report to the Community. The RCC Magazine is published twice a year with the fall issue containing the Annual Report/Report to the Community information including donor lists and financial data and the summer issue focused on alumni news.

Graduation Programs

A copy of each curriculum graduation program is housed in the collection from the college’s first formal graduation exercises in August 1964 to present.  The archives collection also contains some Adult High School, GED, and Basic Skills graduation programs, as well as other assorted departmental graduation programs. 

Randolph Industrial Education Center

Randolph Technical Institute

Randolph Technical College

Randolph Community College