Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Searching Tips

Find Synonyms

All links on this page open in a new window.

Keywords vs. Subject Headings

  • Subject headings (sometimes known as descriptors) describe the content of each item in a database. Use these headings to find relevant items on the same topic. 
  • Searching by subject headings is often the most precise way to search databases.  
  • Most databases have a defined set of subject terms (a.k.a "controlled vocabulary"). Many subject terms are common to all databases, but be aware that they may vary from database to database.
  • Keyword searches look for your terms anywhere in the record--e.g., in the title, abstract, subject heading, or other notes. Keyword searches may be less precise or relevant than searches using prescribed subject terms.

Indentifying Subject Headings

Option 1:

Start with a keyword search.

Browse your results until you find 2 or 3 relevant titles.

Look at the "subject" or "descriptor" assigned to the titles and either use those links or re-do your search using the terms listed.

Option 2:

Look to see if the database has an online thesaurus to browse for subjects that match your topic. (Check the "Refine your results" section or "Help" links inside the databases).