OER: Open Educational Resources

"The B.C. Open Textbook Collection is home to a growing selection of open textbooks for a variety of subjects and specialties. Discover open textbooks that have been reviewed by faculty, meet our accessibility requirements, and/or include ancillary materials (quizzes, test banks, slides, videos, etc.)." Canadian OER initiative

Free textbooks written by professors from the world’s top universities, all on one easy-to-use online eBook platform.

Includes free and open eTextbooks from the MERLOT collection and a collection with Creative Commons Licenses

"Freebookcentre.net contains links to thousands of free online technical books. Which include core computer science, networking, programming languages, Systems Programming books, Linux books and many more..."

Over 4,400 peer-reviewed Open Access books covering Physical Sciences, Engineering & Technology; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences & Humanities

Visitors to LibreTexts will find "twelve independently operating and interconnected libraries that focus on augmenting post-secondary education in STEM fields, social sciences, and humanities."

200 Free Textbooks: A Meta Collection

This nonprofit educational initiative based at Rice University "publish[es] high-quality, peer-reviewed, openly licensed college textbooks that are absolutely free online and low cost in print."

"On this site you’ll find openly licensed textbooks and courses written and curated by SUNY Faculty."

"These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. These books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions; or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.
The Open Textbook Library is supported by the Center for Open Education and the Open Textbook Network."

Saylor Academy’s courses are built from curated OER and are openly-licensed for reuse.

"...comprehensive collection of free online college courses," and "an ongoing series of original videos." (MOOC)

"Search for free content in the public domain and under Creative Commons licenses."

Search the web with Creative Commons filtered search engine to find web sites, articles, videos, images, and other resources licensed for sharing.

"edX is the trusted platform for education and learning. Founded by Harvard and MIT, edX is home to more than 20 million learners, the majority of top-ranked universities in the world and industry-leading companies." (MOOC)

Free public lectures from Gresham College in the United Kingdom

Educational content originally curated by Boundless. In collaboration with the Boundless team, Lumen Learning imported these OER courses to the Lumen Platform, to ensure they remain freely available to the education community after Boundless ceased operations.

Search engine that simultaneously queries more than a dozen sources of educational materials–content that is open access and immediately available for use in your courses.

MERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community.

North Carolina Network for Excellence in Teaching

The mission of the NCLOR is to provide a centralized location for the acquisition, collection, sharing, and management of quality learning resources for all teachers in North Carolina.

OASIS offers users worldwide the ability to search a range of OER materials including textbooks, courses and corresponding materials, interactive simulations, public domain books, audiobooks, modules, open access books, videos and podcasts on a variety of topics – from anthropology to zoology. OASIS also is the only tool that allows users to limit searches by creative commons licenses or by faculty review.” ~https://www.geneseo.edu/news/milne-library-colleagues-launch-oasis

Users can search across over 50,000 vetted and fully indexed OER, ensuring a high level of resource relevancy and discovery. Since these resources are "open," they are available for educational use, and many hold Creative Commons licenses that allow them to be repurposed, modified, and adapted for a diverse array of local contexts.

A collection of high quality, free-to-use courses that you can download and use for teaching. All content is stored in Google docs making it easy to access, browse, and download.

Global directory of open access repositories and their policies.

Search for open courses. The Open Education Consortium (OEC) is a non-profit, global, members-based network of open education institutions and organizations.

OENC is an NC LIVE initiative that aims to reduce the cost of higher education for North Carolina students by providing free, open e-textbooks for 30 of the most frequently taught courses across North Carolina’s 2- and 4-year colleges and universities.

Over 800 free courses, spread across a variety of subject areas; part of the Open University, which is based in the UK.

"...collection of open educational resources (OER) from University of Michigan. Access a range of course materials, videos, lectures, student work and more. Nearly all of the content here is openly licensed for reuse under Creative Commons."

"Project MUSE has over 1000 open access humanities and social science books available on our platform, all from distinguished scholarly presses and societies."

Educators and learners in a variety of industries, particularly those at the community college level, may be interested in SkillsCommons, aimed primarily at workforce development. This digital library contains a wide variety of learning materials produced by the over 700 community colleges that have been grantees of the U.S. Department of Labor's Trade Adjustment Assistance Community College and Career Training (TAACCCT) program. Here, visitors can find OER syllabi, online and hybrid courses and modules, assessment tools, assignments, and other teaching materials, all of which are free to reuse, adapt, and redistribute. This vast array can be browsed by material type, industry, occupation, institution, and more, with most of the contents intended for learners at the associate degree or certificate level. Copyright © 2017 Internet Scout Research Group - http://scout.wisc.edu

OER from various colleges and universities.

"...a growing library of original animated videos, ...and an international platform for teachers to create their own interactive lessons..."

Open digital library of workforce training materials. Includes syllabi, assignments, quizzes, courses, presentations, etc. from technical and community colleges around the U.S.

"Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two."

Khan Academy offers practice exercises, instructional videos, and a personalized learning dashboard that empower learners to study at their own pace in and outside of the classroom.

"TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less)."

"...YouTube Learning, a new channel featuring some of the best how to, DIY, tutorial, and educational videos on YouTube. Whether you’re looking for help with a hobby, want to learn new job skills, or you're just curious about the world around you, we hope this channel can help you achieve it."

The DOAB provides access to academic peer-reviewed open access books.

"free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals"; searchable by subject, journal & article titles

To locate learning objects, select Browse, Material Type, Learning Object Repository. Results can be filtered by Discipline, Audience, Mobile Platform and other filters.

""The Wisc-Online digital library contains over 2,500 learning objects that are freely accessible to teachers and students at no cost and with copyright clearance for use in any classroom or online application. Learning objects are designed and developed by a team of instructional designers, editors, technicians, and student interns."

Be sure to select the usage rights of your choice