Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility Skip to Main Content

RC-11: Visiting Artist Collection, 1972-1991

Printable Finding Aid

Finding Aid: Complete. Written by Laura Silva, October 2022

Subject Headings

  • Guthrie, Robert, 1943-
  • Proffitt, Frank, Jr., 1946-2005
  • Hyslop, Greg
  • Randolph Community College
  • North Carolina Arts Council
  • North Carolina Community College System

Repository Information

Part of the Randolph County Community College Archives Repository
https://libguides.randolph.edu/archives
Contact:
Randolph Community College Library
629 Industrial Park Avenue
Asheboro, NC 27205
library@randolph.edu

 

Librarian

Profile Photo
Laura Silva
She/Her/Hers

Descriptive Summary

Collection Number:     RC-11

Extent:     1.68 feet of linear shelf space; 1 record carton, 1 document box, 1 book, 3 oversized posters

Abstract:     This collection is made up of materials produced by the Visiting Artist Program at Randolph Community College from 1972-1991. The collection primarily includes files on each of the visiting artists, as well as a number of applications for artists who weren’t accepted, grant requests and budgets, Visiting Artist Conference information, directories, program evaluations, handbooks, and a small amount of material related to the Randolph Jazz Band.

Language:     English
 

Information for Users

Access Restrictions:     Open for research.

Copyright Notice:     Copyright is retained by the authors of items in these papers, or their descendants, as stipulated by United States copyright law.

Preferred Citation:     [Item title/description, date, and creator.] Visiting Artist Collection, College Archives, Randolph Community College.

Acquisition:     Materials donated by program coordinator and RCC Retiree, Betsy Kinney, in 2005.

Sensitive Materials Statement:     Archives collections may contain materials with sensitive or confidential information which is protected under federal or state privacy laws. Researchers are advised that the disclosure of certain information pertaining to identifiable living individuals represented in the collections without the consent of those individuals may have legal ramifications for which Randolph Community College assumes no responsibility.

Processed by:     Some materials initially processed by RCC staff, date(s) unknown. Additional processing by Laura Silva, September 2022
 

Collection Description

Historical Information

The Visiting Artist program was established in 1971 in a partnership between the North Carolina Arts Council and the North Carolina Community College System. The program brought more than 300 artists to community colleges over 24 years and provided free cultural experiences to rural communities across the state. Artists could serve at one school for up to two years and remain in the Visiting Artist program for up to four. The schools served as a base for the artist; they didn't teach formal classes, but provided a wide range of artistic services for the students and local community. 

Occasionally, schools would share a visiting artist who would split their time between the two locations. This was the case with Robert Guthrie, RCC’s first visiting artist in 1972, who also served at Davidson County Community College, now Davidson-Davie Community College. Other artists and schools participated in exchanges to provide the artist and local communities with opportunities for more exposure. Randolph Community College hosted its last artist in 1991, and the program ended statewide in 1995. 

Visiting artists at RCC included Robert Guthrie, Ray Ellerman, Carl Hunt, Johanna Erlenbach, Robert and Andrea Rosen, Gail George, William Jones, Frank Proffitt, Jr., Stanley Hyrniuk, Greg Hyslop, Susan Stone, William Gouge, Carl Shugart, Bruce Buchanan, Susan Tucker, Michael Stephenson, and Paul Morton. RCC’s artists were all musicians of varying instruments with the exception of Johanna Erlenbach, a dramatist.

At RCC, the program was coordinated by Carl Ziegler and Betsy Kinney. Promotional material for artists was created by the college’s marketing office.

In 1989, visiting artist Michael Stephenson founded the Randolph Jazz Band – a group that is still performing today. After Stephenson’s residency ended the band was led by another visiting artist, Paul Morton. Stephenson reunited with the band in 2012 to perform a concert celebrating RCC’s 50th anniversary.

    

Sources
Bathanti, J. (2007). They Changed the State: The legacy of North Carolina’s visiting artists 1971-1995. North Carolina Arts Council.
 

Scope and Content Note

This collection is made up of materials produced by the Visiting Artist Program, a community arts program established by the North Carolina Community College System and North Carolina Arts Council in 1971. The collection primarily includes files on each of the artists including applications, correspondence, promotional materials, financial documents, evaluations, press coverage, and performance programs. Some files also include photographs. Additionally, the collection includes a number of applications for artists who weren’t accepted, grant requests and budgets, Visiting Artist Conference information, directories, program evaluations, handbooks, and other ephemera.

Artists often served at several community colleges over their time in the program and collaborated with visiting artists from nearby communities; a small amount of material is included regarding other schools’ programs and their artists. Some items related to the Randolph Jazz Band, established by Michael Stephenson and later led by Paul Morton, are included, along with three oversized rolled posters, and one copy of They Changed the State: The legacy of North Carolina’s visiting artists 1971-1995 by Joseph Bathanti.
 

Related Materials

They Changed the State: The Legacy of North Carolina’s Visiting Artists 1971-1995 by Joseph Bathanti is available for checkout from the RCC library collection. This book describes the program and its impact on communities across the state and includes a list of all artists involved in the program, the years and locations they served, their art form, and the program coordinator. 

 

Arrangement

The materials are arranged in the order they were found. Individual artist files are held first in chronological order, followed by unaccepted applications grouped by discipline, and records related to the program’s general administration. General records include budgets, Visiting Artist Conference documentation, correspondence, Visiting Artist directories, program evaluations, handbooks, memoranda, purchase orders, and other ephemera. Material related to the Randolph Jazz Band is held last.

 

Processing Information

Original file names were used where available; Materials were placed in acid free folders and boxes. 

Contents List

Container

Title/Description

Date

Notes

1.1

Robert Guthrie – Classical Guitarist

1972-1973

1.2

Roy Ellerman – Harpsichordist

1973-1974

1.3

Carl Hunt – Banjo Player

1974-1975

1.4

Johanna Erlenbach – Dramatist

1975-1976

1.5

Johanna Erlenbach – Dramatist

1976-1977

1.6

Robert and Andrea Rosen – Percussionist and Clarinet

1977-1978

1.7

Gail George – Guitarist & Vocalist

1978-1979

1.8

William L. Jones Jr. – Trumpet

1979-1980

1.9

Frank Proffitt Jr. – Folk Music

1980-1981

1.10

Stanley J. Hryniuk – Violin

1981-1982

1.11

Greg Hyslop – Jazz Guitarist

1982-1983

1.12

Susan Stone – Flute

1983-1984

1.13

William Edwin Gouge Jr. – Piano

1984-1985

1.14

Carl Shugart – Cello

1985-1986

1.15

Bruce Buchanan – Classical Woodwinds

1986-1987

1.16

Susan Tucker – Violin / Viola

1987-1988

1.17

Michael Stephenson – Saxophone

1988-1989

1.18

Michael Stephenson – Saxophone

1989-1990

1.19

Paul Morton – Trumpet

August 1990 - December 1991

1.20

Visiting Artist Applicants – Folk Music

1976-1992

Includes applications from Henry Queen, Bill Mansfield, Bruce Piephoff, Bobby McMillon, Scott Ainslie, Michael Thompson, Kevin Delaney, Wayne Erbsen, Franklin DeGroodt, Beverly Cotton, Jan Davidson, and Clark Jones.

1.21

Visiting Artist Applicants – Wind Instruments

1983-1988

Includes applications from Jack Wilkins, Jonathan Helton, Tom Smith, and Mario Hunter.

1.22

Visiting Artist Applicants – Dramatist

1986-1992

Includes applications from Pem Price Medlin, Tony Medlin, and Chris Roselle

1.23

Visiting Artist Applicants – Sculptor

1974-1979

Includes applications from Cliff Morris and Dempsy Calhoun

1.24

Visiting Artist Applicants – Poetry / Novelists

1984-1988

Includes applications from Bruce Piephoff, Stephen Smith, and Becky Roughton

1.25

Visiting Artist Applicants – Classical String Instrument

1983-1989

Includes applications from Franklin DeGroodt and Leslie Moye.

1.26

Visiting Artist Applicants – Vocalists

19836-1989

Includes applications from Eugene Jones, Mary Cooke, Lea Beth Cram, Harold McIntosh, Gena Poovey, Christopher Roselli, Ron Campbell, Ronals Ulen, Anthony Deaton, and Elga Jones.

1.27

Visiting Artist Applicants – Storytelling

1981-1989

Includes applications from Greg Gelb, Stephen Henegan, Louise Anderson, and Paula Larke.

1.28

Visiting Artist Applicants – Filmmaking

1984-1986

Includes application from Tom Whiteside

1.29

Visiting Artist Applicants – Mime

1978-1992

Includes application from Michael Quigley

1.30

Visiting Artist Applicants – Harpist

1973-1987

Includes applications from Pol Sofras, Olive Jenkins, Christine Van Ansdale, and Georganne Cassat

1.31

Visiting Artist Applicants – Dance

1987-1992

Includes application from Wall Street Dance Works.

1.32

Pol Sofras

1981

1.33

Ronald Campbell – Technical College of Alamance

Circa 1984

1.34

Louise Anderson – Surry Community College

Undated

1.35

Mary Cooke – College of the Albemarle

1983

1.36

Paragon Award letters

1991-1992

2.1

Visiting Artist Conference

1974-1979

2.2

Budget

1979-1990

2.3

Correspondence

1975-1990

2.4

Jazz Band Grant

1993-1994

2.5

Community Jazz Band

1990-1991

Includes programs, correspondence, newspaper clippings, personnel list, and flier.

2.6

Artist Directories

1972-1993

2.7

Accompanist’s Performance Forms

Undated

2.8

Performance reservation forms & summary sheets

Undated

2.9

Memoranda

1984-1993

2.10

Inventory Cards

1976

2.11

Handbook

1974-1983

2.12

Program Evaluations

1980-1992

2.13

Accompanists’ requisitions and contracts

1988-1993

2.14

Randolph Jazz band requisitions

1993-1994

2.15

Purchase Orders

1990

Shelf Storage

They Changed the State

2007

Shelf Storage

Rolled posters for artists Bill Gouge, Carl Shugart, and Michael Stephenson.

1984-1990