Research Guides: College and Career Readiness: For Instructors

All links on this page open in a new window.

eLibrary (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
General reference collection of periodical and digital media content designed for K-12 school curriculum and research support. Provided by NC LIVE.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
21,000+ academic, career and technical education videos on topics ranging from anthropology to world languages. Includes Oscar, Emmy and Peabody award winning documentaries, interviews, instructional and vocational training videos, historical speeches and newsreels. Provided by NC LIVE.

12 Best Sites with Free Educational Movies
Lifewire's list of some of the best educational video sites on the Web.
Adult Core Skills
This section includes the following modules: Build Your Math Skills, Become a Better Reader, Improve Your Writing, Speaking, and Grammar, and Become a U.S. Citizen
Basic Computer Skills
This section includes the following modules: Computer Basics, Internet Basics, and Microsoft Office Basics
Career Preparation
This section includes the following modules:
Learn about a Career, Build Workplace Skills, Prepare for the Air Traffic Controller Exam, Prepare for Allied Health and Social Worker Exams, Prepare for Civil Service Exams, Prepare for Commercial Driver's License (CDL) Exams, Prepare for Cosmetology Exams, Prepare for Hospitality Exams, Prepare for Electrician and Plumbing Exams, Prepare for Emergency Medical Services and Firefighting Exams, Prepare for Law Enforcement Exams, Prepare for Military Exams, Prepare for Nursing Exams, Prepare for Real Estate Exams, Prepare for Teaching Exams, Prepare for the WorkKeys® Assessments, and Prepare for the TOEIC®
College Students
This section includes the following modules:
Math Skills Review, Reading Skills Review, Grammar and Writing Skills Review, Science Skills Review, Prepare for Graduate School Admissions Exams, Prepare for College Placement Exams, Prepare for CLEP® and DSST® Exams, Search for Schools and Scholarships, and College Success Skills
Forum Network
Collection of lecture videos on topics ranging from Art & Architecture, to Politics & Public Affairs. Browsable & searchable by topic, region, & period. A service of PBS and NPR.
GED Subject Resources: Math, RLA, Science and Social Studies for Adult Basic Education
Instructor-generated materials and pedagogy
High School Equivalency Center
This section includes the following modules:
Are You Ready?, Build Your Basic Skills, Prepare for the GED® Test, GED® en Español, Prepare for the HiSET®
Prepare for College
This section includes the following modules:
Explore College, Guided ACT® Course, Guided Digital SAT® Course, Get Ready for the PSAT®, Get Ready for AP® Tests, Get Ready for the TOEFL iBT®, Get Ready for the IELTS™, and Get Ready for College Placement Tests

RCC Library honors requests from instructors to place course-related items on reserve that are in compliance with U.S. Copyright Law (Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107 opens in a new window) and the fair use guidelines (opens in a new window. For more information, contact Darla Richardson.

Review the Common Copyright Scenarios (opens in a new window) page for more guidelines on fair use and course reserves.

Materials can be placed on closed reserve (meaning they can only be checked out for use in the library) or on reserve checkout (time specified by instructor).

Please make sure the reserve checkout period is reasonable for the number of students in your class. For example, please do not put one copy of a book on a 3-day checkout IF all 26 students in the class need to read it in a week.

How to Place a Hold in the Catalog [PDF]

If you are unable to find material in the RCC library, and wish to search other community college libraries in North Carolina, change the library drop-box from Randolph to ALL. This will search 56 North Carolina community college libraries that are members of the CCLINC consortium.

If you find a title in RCC library that is checked out, or if you need a title from another library and wish to request it in RCC Library Catalog (opens in a new window):

Click on the Details button to the left of the title.
Click on Place Hold (first link in the box on the left).
Enter your library account barcode number in the user ID text box (this number should start with 29875). You do NOT need to enter an alternate ID or PIN. If you do not know your card number, contact library@randolph.edu
Click Place Hold.
Your name should appear with a confirmation that the hold has been placed.

You will be notified via email as soon as the material is received.
There is no charge for interlibrary loans from other CCLINC libraries.
It may take 7-10 business days to receive an interlibrary loan item.
Overdue charges apply to interlibrary loans.

Can't find the book you need in CCLINC? Use the Interlibrary Loan Request - Book online form (opens in a new window) to request that we find it for you elsewhere.

Library Tour

Tour of the library's collections and discussion of services & policies
20 minutes
May be scheduled separately or in conjunction with group visits for student IDs

Test Preparation & ESoL Resources

Teaches how to use either Testing & Education Reference Center or Mango Languages
50 minutes
Students need computers.