Skip to main content

Randolph Community College Archives and Special Collections

The Archives Collection includes manuscripts, records, publications, photographs, art, and memorabilia related to the history of the institution.

Collection Highlights

  • College Catalogs (online: 1964-present; print: 1964-present)
  • College Christmas cards
  • College Scrapbooks (1962-2000s)
  • Dr. Larry Keith Linker Dissertations
  • Graduation programs (1964-present)
  • Interior Design Showcase Collection (1970s-2000s)
  • Milestone Anniversaries Collections
  • Photographs (1960s-2000s)
  • President’s Office Files (1970s-2010)
  • Press Releases (1981-present)
  • Previews (Continuing Education publication) (1980s-2000s)
  • RCC Foundation Annual Reports (online and print: 1980-present)
  • Slides (1970s-1980s)
  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools (SACS) Documents (1973-present)
  • Videos of RCC (Events, Programs, Employees, Students) (1980s-2000s)
  • Visiting Artist Collection (1972-1995)

The North Carolina Digital Heritage Center is a statewide digitization and digital publishing program housed in the North Carolina Collection at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. The Digital Heritage Center works with cultural heritage institutions across North Carolina to digitize and publish historic materials online.  Several Randolph Community College publications have been digitized and are available for viewing.  The master/original copies are preserved in the Archives. 

College Catalogs

A copy of each college catalog from the earliest known volume (1964-1965) to present is housed in the collection.  Catalogs provide information on college policies, programs, and many provide a list of Board of Trustee members and full-time faculty and staff.

RCC Foundation Annual Reports

Dr. Larry Keith Linker was employed at Randolph Community College from 1963-2000.  From 1988-2000, Linker served as President of Randolph Community College. In 2006, he returned to serve as Interim President.  In 1979, Linker completed his Ed.D. from Nova Southeastern University and his dissertation was entitled A Plan to Establish a Foundation at Randolph Technical College.  Linker’s dissertation was what initiated the establishment of the Foundation at Randolph Community College. 


Beginning in 1980, the Foundation began publishing an Annual Report of activities, scholarships, revenue, operating expenses, and grants. In 1993, the Annual Report became known as the Report To the Community.  This publication feature both text and photography and provided a more comprehensive yearly report of campus wide events and activities.  In the fall of 2013, the first volume of the Randolph Community College Magazine & Report to the Community was published which allowed the college

Graduation Programs

A copy of each curriculum graduation program is housed in the collection from the college’s first formal graduation exercises in August 1964 to present.  The archives collection also contains some Adult High School, GED, and Basic Skills graduation programs, as well as other assorted departmental graduation programs. 

Randolph Industrial Education Center


Randolph Technical Institute


Randolph Technical College 


Randolph Community College

Scrapbooks

Scrapbooks of newspaper clippings featuring press releases, advertisements, and other college related pieces were maintained by college staff from 1962-2006 and all are maintained in the collection.  The scrapbooks trace the development and growth of the college during its first 45 years. 

Miscellaneous

The Eye, a student publication published in 1968 and Uwharrie Dreams, a student publication published in 2002, 2003, and 2005 contain informative articles, poetry, and prose written by students, faculty and staff.